Vicksburg, lying on the eastern banks of the Mississippi, revels in its history,
gambling boats and barges; its pre-war cotton lifestyle mostly forgotten.
First settled by the Spaniards in 1790 and called Nogales, meaning black walnut
for the many trees that abounded here, became
Vicksburg in 1819, after the Reverend
Newit Vick bought 1120 acres of land in 1811 and over the next decade
used the other 200 acres to design the town. Vicksburg became a major cotton trading
city as it grew to be the largest city in Mississippi during that century.
suffering severe bombardment during the Civil War, many landmarks remain today
such as the Christ Episcopal Church which saw daily services during the Siege of Vicksburg
in 1863. The Old Court House Museum, described as "Vicksburg's most historic building" was
constructed by slaves in 1858. It has hosted such great Americans as Jefferson Davis,
Theodore Roosevelt, Booker T. Washington and William McKinley.
The old court house, which has been replaced with a modern structure across the street
now serves as a museum for all periods of time in Vicksburg. A very good cross section
of life on the river covering some 150 years can be found on the two floors which make
up the displays which include sections on weapons, china and dolls, as well as period
clothing. In the middle of town is the restored Biedenharn Museum and candy store, built in
1890 where Coca-Cola was first bottled in 1894. The museum contains reproduction bottling
works, Coca-Cola memorabilia, a 1900 soda fountain, and a restored 1890 candy store. There
are over 100 Coca-Cola items for sale in the museum's gift shop.
HOME PAGE Next >>>>>